CHARLOTTETOWN, PE – February 24th, 2021 will be another special night in Island sport as Sport PEI prepares to host its 47th annual awards at the Confederation Centre. The evening will showcase the Island’s finest amateur sporting accomplishments from 2020.


Leading a strong field of athletes are the finalists for the Cox & Palmer Senior Male and Female Athletes of the Year. The list includes Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & X-C Ski), Brett Gallant (curling), Ligrit Sadiku (Wrestling), Suzanne Birt (Curling), Stevie Murphy (Equestrian), and Hannah Taylor (Wrestling).


Winners have been determined in the following categories:

ADL Administrator of the Year: Beryl MacMillan (Hockey/Ringette)

PEI Mutual Insurance Official of the Year: Tanner Doiron (Hockey)

CBC Team of the Year: UPEI Women’s Basketball Team

PEI Mutual Insurance Coach of the Year: Billy McGuigan (Hockey)

Tickets are $20 and are available by calling Sport PEI at (902) 368-4110.


The full list of athlete finalists is as follows:

ADL Masters Athlete of the Year:

•            Rob Binns (Speed skate)

•            Troy Coffin (Baseball)

•            John Van Ekris (Ultra-running)

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Male Athlete of the Year:

•            Stephen Anderson (Hockey)

•            Kameron Kielly (Hockey)

•            Ligrit Sadiku (Wrestling)

Synergy Fitness & Nutrition Intercollegiate Female Athlete of the Year:

•            Ava Boutilier (Hockey)

•            Jenna Mae Ellsworth (Basketball)

•            Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)

DP Murphy Hotels Junior Male Athlete of the Year:

•            Brodie MacArthur (Hockey)

•            Mikey Perry (Judo)

•            Jordan Spence (Hockey)

DP Murphy Hotels Junior Female Athlete of the Year:

•            Jenna Larter (Speed skate)

•            Lauren Lenentine (Curling)

•            Alexa McQuaid (Swimming)

Cox & Palmer Senior Male Athlete of the Year:

•            Mark Arendz (Para Biathlon & XC Ski)

•            Brett Gallant (Curling)

•            Ligrit Sadiku (Wrestling)

Cox & Palmer Senior Female Athlete of the Year:

•            Suzanne Birt (Curling)

•            Stevie Murphy (Equestrian)

•            Hannah Taylor (Wrestling)


Congratulations to all of our Hockey PEI members who were named as winners/finalists of these prestigious awards.


– 30 –

Hockey PEI is the governing body for organized hockey in Prince Edward Island. Hockey PEI’s main purpose is to foster, promote, develop, supervise, regulate, and govern the sport of amateur hockey throughout Prince Edward Island. For more on Hockey PEI and its programs visit or contact:

Tanner Doiron

Manager, Hockey Operations & Communications