Members joined together at the 44th Annual General Meeting of Hockey PEI which took place on June 24th at the Rodd Royalty Inn in Charlottetown.   The annual meeting included council and committee reports, award presentations and elections to the board of directors.

There was several reports presented and topics discussed with the membership including updates on the new officiating structure, new staffing, updated programming, recognition of all the provincial championship winners and registration reports.

Coming from the meeting were updates on new directives for the future including an update on the High Performance Program for next season, further review of the Atom Pathway, and a continued focus on female hockey for the future.

Hockey PEI also confirmed that the branch will be hosting the 2019 Atlantic Pee Wee Championships and the 2019 Atlantic Midget Female Championships.   Selected host sites will be confirmed in the coming months.

Elected to represent the board of directors for the 2018-2019 season included:

  • President – Mike Hammill
  • Executive Vice President – Al MacIsaac
  • Vice President Finance – Tyson Bradley
  • Chair Minor Hockey Council – Robert MacMillan
  • Chair Junior Hockey Council – Cliff Affleck
  • Chair Senior Hockey Council – Ron Hennessey
  • Chair Hockey Development Council – Jeremy Pierce
  • Manager Officiating Committee – Paul Matte
  • Director of Female Hockey – Jen MacDonald
  • Past President – Barry Thompson

In conjunction with the Annual General Meeting, several awards were presented at the annual awards ceremony.  Hockey PEI honored participants and volunteers who have devoted themselves to the betterment of the game.

“Without our volunteers and member participants, there is no hockey here in PEI. It’s important that we take the time to recognize some of the many deserving individuals around the game of hockey in our province,” stated Hockey PEI President Mike Hammill.

Hockey PEI was honored to present awards in the following categories.

  • President’s Award – The Late John MacIntyre
  • Jim Stirling Scholarship – BF Lorenzetti – Ashton Grigg (Tyne Valley)
  • Hockey PEI Scholastic Award – Brynne Perry (Tignish)
  • Gordie Whitlock Development Award  – Ryan Ramsay (Mid Isle Matrix)
  • Female Player of the Year – Gracyn Handrahan (Western Wind Midget AAA)
  • Male Player of the Year – Brodie MacArthur (Summerside Capitals Jr. A)
  • Volunteer of the Year – Carolyn MacPhee (Souris Minor Hockey)
  • Administrator of the Year – Brian Matheson (Sherwood Parkdale Minor Hockey)
  • Coach of the Year – Will Zafiris (Eastern Express Bantam AAA/2019 Men’s Canada Games)
  • Aaron Coffin Official of the Year – Derek Pierce (HPEI Director of Development)
  • Team of the Year – Western Red Wings Junior B


Hockey PEI
Ph: (902) 368-4334