Scholarship Award Applications Also Available

Hockey PEI is pleased to announce that applications are now available for the 2015-2016 Awards Recognition Program, along with the Jim Stirling Memorial and Hockey PEI Scholarships. These Awards have been developed to honor deserving participants and volunteers of hockey across the province.

The Awards Recognition Program is accepting nominations in the following categories:

  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Administrator of the Year
  • Female Player of the Year
  • Male Player of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Aaron Coffin Official of the Year Award
  • The two scholastic awards, Hockey PEI and Jim Stirling Memorial, are to honor a deserving player, coach and/or official pursuing post-secondary education and valued at $1,000 each.

In addition to the above noted awards, Hockey PEI also presents Development Council Awards to the individuals that best promotes branch and Hockey Canada Development Programs for its players, coaches, officials and instructors.   Individuals will also be recognized by Hockey PEI with the Hockey Canada Officiating Branch Awards, Presidents Award and Hockey PEI Life Membership.

Barry Thompson, President of Hockey PEI encourages all members to nominate a deserving participant or volunteer for these awards. “Hockey PEI has one of the largest networks of volunteers in this province who work tirelessly to make the game of hockey available to our youth; it is those volunteers and participants who deserve the very recognition that these awards provide”, stated Thompson.

Information and applications can be found here or by contacting the office at 902-368-4334 or

Deadline for submission of award nominations is May 31, 2016 and all presentations will be made at the Annual General Meeting to be held in June.

Deadline submissions for the Hockey PEI and Jim Stirling Memorial scholastic awards is May 13, 2016.